Where has the time gone?

Where has this week gone?  this month?  this year?  It has rushed past at the speed of light!  If only I could have more time.  If only I could go back and do something over.  Since, I can’t go back, I can look ahead and see how to approach 2012 with my eyes wide open, my life uncluttered, and my heart open to my family and time with them.

I’m not for resolutions as they usually are broken within the first week or month of the new year.  I want something lasting for my family to start this new year.  As I opened my inbox, I received an email from a blog I subscribe to, the Humbled Homemaker.  The post was about making New Year’s Eve celebrations meaningful.  You mean there’s more than the ball dropping and just going to sleep like usual?  As I continued to read, I found a few great tips on how to change my “What’s the big deal?” attitude.

Preserving memories is the first tip.  How do we do that?  She suggests filling out memory pages from the last year.  We can do that and the kids would enjoy it!  Then her family predicts what is going to happen in 2012.  We can do that, too!  These are great ideas that are simple and she provides the pages for you so you don’t even have to come up with the questions unless you want to.  Next is a family photo.  I am big on photos because we change so much in a year’s time and it’s fun to look back on those memories.   There is, also, a time capsule, a box (or pail) in your garage filled with your predictions, photos, memory pages and whatever else symbolized your year for you to open the following year. She ends with writing down things or habits you want to get rid of in the coming year and burning them in the fireplace.  Since we don’t have a fireplace, we’ll forgo this last part, but we will write them down as a reminder of what we want to change in ourselves.

My husband and I will ring in the New Year, my kids will probably be asleep.  We will give them New Years kisses and pray over them for the coming year.  God graciously gives us a new year, how will we live it out?  What are you doing to bring in the New Year, how will you make it meaningful?

Linking to:

Leave a comment