See the Light Art Review – Shipwrecked

My children take joy in art. Whether it’s as simple as crayons and paper or something more elaborate, they delight in being creative. So, how can those of us who are creativity challenged teach art? I have the supplies, but coming up with ways to utilize them doesn’t come easy to me. That’s where See the Light comes in. See the Light is a company that has a “love for the Lord Jesus Christ, a heart for children, and a passion for ministry.” Their artists and musicians teach art instruction in an engaging way while sharing the Gospel.ShipwreckedMy oldest daughter chose the DVD titled Shipwrecked for me to review. This DVD has a Bible story, 3 art lessons, and bonus material including the plan of salvation told in a creative way. I was concerned with the level of difficulty for my younger children, but they all enjoyed watching the lessons.

DSCN0112While everyone smiles for the photo, my 9-year-old is watching intently so as not to miss any detail given in the lesson. DSCN0115After watching the entire DVD, they chose to try the creative letter writing. DSCN0116DSCN0121DSCN0118DSCN0122DSCN0123DSCN0126My 2 and 3-year-old girls created their own artwork and enjoyed watching the show. My 5-year-old, who is very detailed, was a little upset when he felt like he couldn’t keep up. So, his big sister and I helped him and he was able to complete his artwork. My 9-year-old enjoyed everything about the DVD and has been asking if we can get another one. She enjoys art and really liked the different lessons that were taught.

In the end, they all enjoyed the lesson. I agree with See the Light, though, that the art lessons are geared for 6 and up. For me, it was nice having someone teach art in an engaging way to my kids. I look forward to purchasing another lesson in the future.

**I received this product for free through The Gabby Moms program in exchange for my honest review.**

 

 

Leave a Reply

