Encouragement for the Soul {A Gabby Mom Review}

Have you ever had one of those moments when you stop and think, what have I gotten myself into? Lately, that question has been creeping up in my mind. This month has been quite busy for me, only because my schedule has been overbooked…by me. In thinking I could handle it all, I’ve let many things slide. Can I do it all? Maybe, but can I do it all to my best ability? No, I cannot.

My deadlines are approaching and I can either sulk and be upset over my choice to over-commit or choose to push on and get through this. Well, even though I know I need to push on, I needed a little encouragement which is what I received in my email box from Eternal Encouragement. Being a Gabby Mom with Eternal Encouragement has been a blessing!

This month I chose to review Lorrie Flem’s Colorado Power Pack which includes 8 audios and 7 listening guides with the following titles: Keys to a Queenly Castle, Attitude Adjustments, Encouragement for the Weary Homeschooler, Cheerful Children and Challenging Chores, Teach so They’ll Learn, Dawdling or Diligence, Welcome Home Daddy, and Doing Enough & Fortifying the Foundation. Wow, isn’t that a lot of information! It all sounded so good that it was hard to know where to begin.

I listened to a few of the audios over the last few weeks which were excellent, but last night I decided to find encouragement for this weary homeschooler, so that’s the title I listened to. What a refreshing and encouraging audio! I can now see the finish line to my schedule for the month and I can learn what not to do from this point forward.

What are my priorities and goals? Why am I homeschooling? Lorrie suggested writing out my goals so that in those moments of despair I can be reminded of why I am homeschooling.

Am I committed to too many outside activities? My family is my utmost priority. If things are being neglected at home (housework, homeschooling, food preparation, relationships), then I have no business committing to anything outside of the home. Lorrie gave many encouraging tips and gave suggestions for being more efficient at home.

Another point is to make every moment count. Be purposeful and disciplined. For the past few weeks I have been getting up early and spending time with Jesus. I plan out at least a half hour to be in the Word and for prayer. How can I nourish my family if I’m not being nourished? How can I respond in the right way if I’m stressed and trying to do it all by myself? By getting up early, I can start my day off right. I’m refreshed and ready to take on anything that comes my way.

So, how can I stop from overcommitting? Well, for me it’s coming up with a schedule and talking about it with my husband. He’s been great with guiding me and giving me advice with my commitments. It’s okay to say no, even to the good things. When I first have control over my home, I can have the freedom to participate in other activities.

I’ve learned my lesson and am praying for discipline as my desire is to do my best in the roles God has me in – a wife, mommy, and homeschool teacher. My weariness has subsided and my sights are looking ahead to God’s path for me.

If you need encouraging, I highly recommend this audio bundle and right now you have an opportunity to win your own free bundle. Just follow this link, Encouragement: Colorado Power Pack, and fill out the form. A winner will be chosen on June 1st.

As a Gabby Mom with Eternal Encouragement I received the Colorado Power Pack in exchange for my honest review.

 

4 thoughts on “Encouragement for the Soul {A Gabby Mom Review}

  1. Thanks for sharing this review. Your comments about “Encouragement for a Weary Homeschooler” was very timely to a mom who is still trying to get math finished for the year!!

    • You’re welcome! Enjoy finishing math! I think we’ll keep doing it over the summer just to keep my oldest from forgetting what she’s learned. When asked what we’re doing over the summer my response
      is always, oh, we’ll keep schooling. I just hope we get into more fun electives.

  2. Hello,My name is Cindy and I am an overcommitmentaholic…..hahaha…yea, I hear ya! I have been thinking how I really NEED a good schedule BUT the time with my Lord needs to be #1. Thanks for reinforcing it in my mind.

    • Haha! That’s great and it seems to be me right now. I’m praying over my schedule and trying to get a grip on it. Hopefully, next year will run a little smoother for us.

Leave a Reply

