No Syrup For You – A Lesson Learned

Have you ever had one of those moments where you thought, maybe that wasn’t a good thing to feed my child?  Well, last Saturday, proved to be one of those times.  One of our Disney breakfast favorites are Mickey Mouse Waffles.  They are so yummy even without syrup.  So, me being the “let’s limit sugar” mommy, decided to give out the waffles with no syrup.  Shame on me, I know, but I thought they’d be fine without it.

Then, daddy arrived from the buffet with syrup in hand and my son of course requesting his own little cup.  What daddy wouldn’t give in to those sweet little eyes and smiles!  Everything was going fine to start.  Waffle bites were being dipped in the syrup like usual.  Then out of the corner of my eye, the cup was lifted to his mouth.  With my look and my head shaking no, he promptly put it down and smiled a mischievous grin at me.

Then, I went back to the buffet.  Upon my return, a little boy was a little wound up.  Daddy leaned over and said, “I’m sorry, I wasn’t watching and when I saw him, he was eating the syrup like soup (mouthfuls of syrup on the spoon).”  I laughed and said something like, “Why weren’t you watching him?”  And he replied, “Who gave him the syrup?”  I then laughed some more and responded, “Uh, you did.”  We both laughed and thought, we’re in for it today!  I did say, “I bet you won’t do that again.”  He said, “No more syrup, that’s for sure (at least when we can’t watch him).”  Notice the spoon in the cup on his plate!  Well, the day went well.  He was wound up for the entire day and then we definitely noticed when the sugar high began to wear off.  Poor kid, he didn’t know what hit him.  So, the lesson we learned was, never give your child a cup of syrup and look away. 

He was a little wiggly for this picture!

My little boy is full of energy on a normal day, but the extra addition of the syrup made for a lot of laughter this past Saturday.  So, as the Syrup Nazi would say, No Syrup for You 🙂

Linking up to:
A-Wise-Woman-Builds-Her-HomeHoly Spirit-Led Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

