Dessert & Dinner Fixes from the Wanna-be Homemaker

Have you ever tried a new recipe and something just wasn’t right?  Did you give up?  Was it thrown out?  The lesson I learned yesterday is fix it, don’t throw it out.  If you stick with me, you might find something helpful for your next kitchen mishap.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolaty Peanut Butter Frosting
I’m always looking for new cake recipes and love to try them out for birthdays.  Thankfully, I have 3 coming up and it’s time for some testing!  My daughter turns 8 on February 4th and has requested a chocolate chip cake with chocolate icing.  So, I perused the internet and found a recipe for chocolate chip cupcakes.  Delicious!  My failure came with the frosting.  I didn’t sift the powdered sugar and the result was lumpy frosting.  How to fix?  My first attempt was to add mini chocolate chips…still noticed the white lumps.  Off to the computer I went to search for a fix.  My result, put it all in my handy ninja food processor and pulse until smooth (I was given this as a gift and love the results I get from it).  Why stop there, since they are chocolate chip cupcakes and I have to go to all of this trouble, why not add a little natural peanut butter to the mix. Yummy!  I now have delicious chocolate chip cupcakes with a chocolaty peanut butter frosting.

Chicken Enchiladas (I think)
For dinner I wanted quick and easy.  I found a recipe in one of my books and most of the ingredients were not in my pantry, so I modified it…a lot…and since I heard, “Mmm this is really good!” at the table, I thought I would pass it along.

Ingredients: Package of Tortillas, 2 cans of Shredded Chicken Breast, small can of Tomato Sauce, can of Enchilada Sauce, can of Refried Beans, Garlic & Onion Powder,  Mural of Flavor Spice from Penzey’s, and shredded cheese.

Drain the chicken and put into a medium bowl.  Mix in a little tomato sauce (maybe half of the can) and the seasonings (sprinkle to your liking).  Set aside.  Open can of beans and empty into a small bowl.  Get a 9×13 pan and a plate and start your assembly line.  Place a tortilla on the plate, smear 2-3 Tbsp of refried beans on top, then put on 3 Tbsp of the chicken mixture, sprinkle with cheese, fold corners and place in pan – crease side down (could use a cookie sheet as well – just make sure to spray it).  Repeat till all the tortillas are gone.  Then, open a can of enchilada sauce and pour on top of enchiladas, sprinkle with cheese.  Bake in 350 degree oven until cheese is melted (15 min), turn off oven, leave until ready to eat.  …Oh, just a note, this is a great recipe for your emergency kits – no water needed!  You can keep these items in stock since all but the cheese is in a can or jar (but you can buy the cheese dehydrated if you want).So, what did I learn?  Lumpy frosting can be fixed and there are many ways to modify recipes if we are missing ingredients.  The worst that can happen is the cereal bowls might come out, but you never know, you might like what you have created!

Linking up to:

Leave a Reply

