Serenity for Your Soul {Newsletter Review}

Hmm, Serenity for You Soul, wouldn’t you want to continue reading a newsletter with a title like that?  It truly is what I feel after reading Lorrie Flem’s newsletters from Eternal Encouragement.  This morning I opened my email and found her newsletter waiting to be read.  The title is “I’ve got some big shoes to fill this week!” and curiosity drew me to open it right away.

Lorrie’s newsletter starts off with a personal note sharing a little about what is going on in her life.  It is such a personal way to begin and I enjoy hearing what is happening in her neck of the woods!  Today, she just made me giggle which is what I needed.  She shares with her readers her new diet which is to switch from her normal body wash to Dawn dish soap because the label reads, “Dissolves fat that is otherwise difficult to remove.”  I just had to laugh (my husband laughed, too).

She moves on to saying how God whispers to us, but if we don’t take the time to listen, He has to throw a brick at us.  A brick?  Another giggle arises as my husband and I have discussed the bricks that God has thrown at us and that maybe we’ll soon listen to Him before another one gets thrown.  Bricks aren’t pleasant, I am learning to listen so I can enjoy the soft whispers instead.

Lorrie’s topics always speak to me with my current circumstances!  Lately, I’ve been feeling like a homemaking failure.  I’m overwhelmed by everything and I keep getting further behind.  People always come up to me and say, “I don’t know how you do it,” and I think to myself, “I can’t.”  Without God’s help, I can’t do any of this.  Lorrie shares her struggles and even refers to herself as “The Horrid Homemaker or Psycho Suzy.”  She then shares a verse that I know all too well, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13  When will I give it all up to Him?  When will I let God take my burdens and help me with everything?  I can be the wife, mother, homemaker, teacher that I am called to be because my competence comes through Christ (2 Corinthians 3:5).  Thank you, Lorrie, for that reminder!

Do you feel overwhelmed in God’s calling for you?  Do you need that extra encouragement?  Why not head on over to Lorrie’s website, Eternal Encouragement, and sign up for your FREE newsletter!  Scroll to the center of the homepage and fill in your information.  Once you do that, you’ll receive an email with a link to Lorrie’s popular E-Book, Organizing Happiness!

Head on over and be encouraged!

I am reviewing Serenity for Your Soul as part of The Gabby Moms  program and did not receive compensation for this post.

11 thoughts on “Serenity for Your Soul {Newsletter Review}

  1. Nicely done! I, too, needed that reminder (once again) that ‘I’ can’t do it and never will able…..thankfully, ‘I’ don’t have to 😉

  2. Pingback: Serenity For Your Soul Newsletter Review

  3. Yes, I can totally relate here! We all feel overwhelmed at times by the responsiblity the Lord has blessed us with in marriage, raising a family, and being a follower here – now.

    • What a responsibility He’s given us! I am so thankful for it, though, and look forward to each day that He gives me with my family. Thank you for following my blog 🙂

  4. I loved that quote about the Dawn too! I know how you feel about feeling like a homemaking failure. I experience that as well as I wasn’t raised/trained as a homemaker. I didn’t even know that I didn’t know things. But I’m getting there – one day at a time!

    • Yes, I thought I knew everything (I’m a little independent 🙂 ), but I realize now, that it’s okay to take advice from others. A lot of people know how to do things better and more efficiently than me and I can learn from them. As I learn, I can pass it on to my children! These newsletters are great, aren’t they!

  5. Oh boy, do I defintely feel overwhelmed at times at Gods calling for me. After raising my daughters and now my 2 granddaughters, I still struggle with feeling like a homemaking failure and this is my secound go-round. By Gods grace, I will succeed though. I like you like it much better, to hear and obey the whisper, before the brick somes. Great review!!

Leave a Reply

