Little Interruptions

Yesterday, I got caught up in the mess of life.  Nothing seemed to be going right.  My children seemed to be crazy kids running around, I felt as though my husband wasn’t in tune with the family and I was losing it.  I yelled when I shouldn’t have, I was upset at everything it seemed.  I just wanted to crawl into my bed, cry and rest.

When my husband got home, that is what I did.  He suggested a nice hot shower and then off to bed.  I followed his advice and even brought a few books with me to read.  As I was reading, my oldest daughter came in and asked if she could sit with me.  I actually thought about that before answering because I was having my time and why couldn’t I have it without interruptions?

Those little interruptions were such a blessing and God knew just what I needed.  My oldest daughter came and snuggled up next to me and I read to her the book I was reading, Making Brothers and Sisters Best Friends by Sarah, Stephen and Grace Mally.  She enjoyed it and kept asking for me to read more.  I told her I was sorry for yelling today and asked for forgiveness.  She sweetly said yes and gave me a kiss.  I just held her and took in that special moment.  Then she got down to see if her daddy needed any help (the other kids were not doing well).  Apparently she asked if she could try calming down her brother and her daddy allowed her to.  Soon after, she arrived next to me with my son and asked if he could snuggle with me.  He loves to face me and look into my eyes.  So, I again asked for his forgiveness and was followed by a yes and a sweet kiss.  Another moment of holding on to one of my blessings.  Then, my daughter arrived with my 2-year-old little girl.  She was squirmy, but she looked at me and said, “Can I snuggle with you mommy?”  Finally, all the kids were in my bed snuggling with me and it was exactly what I needed (and I didn’t even know it!)

I was so focused on me and what wasn’t being done for me that I had forgotten what the most important thing in this life.  I had forgotten that God knows what is best for me and he has me where I am at, he has blessed me with 4 precious children and a loving husband.  My house might be a mess at times and things might not go well in a day, but tomorrow is not guaranteed and each day is a gift from God.  I am so thankful for those little interruptions and for God’s gifts!

Linking up to:
Holy Spirit-Led HomeschoolingRaising Homemakers

Leave a Reply

