Yelling: The Cause, The Casualty, The Cure {Book Review}

Remember back to the arrival of each of your children.  Remember the overwhelming emotions of finally holding that long-awaited, precious gift in your arms.

Remember your wedding day.  Remember the sense of closeness as you looked in each others eyes and said your vows.  Remember the happiness of finally being with the man who God had brought into your life.

Then life happens.  Children learn the word no.  Their sin nature becomes apparent.  Our sin nature becomes apparent.  We fight and argue with our husbands.  We realize how different we are.  As a result, we have begun a cycle of yelling.  How do we overcome it?

I just finished reading an e-book “Yelling: The Cause, The Casualty, The Cure” by Lorrie Flem.From someone who has yelled in the past, she gives great tips on how to overcome this devastating choice.  First and foremost, we are to seek God.  I know some will say “Yeah right, how is He going to stop me, He isn’t going through this!”  But, if we seek Him through prayer and bring our burdens to Him, He tells us that He will help us.

“If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer,” Matthew 21:22.

“But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, Who is unseen. Then your Father, Who sees what is done in secret, will reward you,” Matthew 6:6.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened,” Luke 11:9–10.

If you struggle with yelling, this book has great advice on how to change this devastating pattern.  We do have a choice.  I struggle with yelling.  My kids have cried and asked me why I yelled.  I show my husband disrespect when I yell at him.  My house can be overcome with yelling if it isn’t reigned in.  I have begun making my quiet time a regular part of my day.  Spending time with my Creator, giving my burdens to Him has made such a difference.  Choosing to be happy, choosing to love my husband and my kids (yes, love is a choice) has changed my attitude and my propensity to yell.  I enjoy encouraging books from people who have been there and Lorrie has.  Check out her website, Eternal Encouragement, where you can find this book and many other great products to encourage you in your calling as a wife and as a mother.

I received a complimentary copy of Yelling, The Cause, The Casualty, The Cure as part of The Gabby Moms  program in exchange for my honest review.

3 thoughts on “Yelling: The Cause, The Casualty, The Cure {Book Review}

  1. Pingback: Yelling: The Cause, The Casualty, The Cure {Review – Kindle Edition} plus free book offer! | Life's Simple Stories

Leave a Reply

