Family Day – November 6, 2011

(I cannot get 1 of the videos to work properly, so see my note for where to start the video and that way you won’t have to wait.)

I love family day!  Even though it takes a lot of preparation, I enjoy making a special breakfast for my family and I enjoy setting this day apart as God’s day!Last night I thought I would be ahead due to the time change, but I quickly found out that I was getting behind.  Somehow the house was a mess, dishes weren’t done, laundry needed to be finished…  Thankfully, my wonderful husband helped me to prepare.  It was true teamwork to get ready for today!

Today’s breakfast consisted of:
1. Scrambled Eggs  with Penzey’s Spices’ Fox Point Seasoning & cheddar cheese
2. French Toast
* 4 eggs
* 2/3 cup orange juice
* 1/3 cup milk
* 1/4 cup brown sugar
* 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg & 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
* 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1 loaf Sourdough French Bread, cut into 1 inch slices

Place bread in a single layer in a casserole dish.  Mix all ingredients and pour over bread (I forgot to add the sugar before pouring the ingredients over bread, so I drizzled honey on top and it turned out great!).  Put in the fridge overnight.  In the morning, turn over slices and let soak until you get everything ready.  Place bread on a jelly roll pan (or cookie sheet) in a single layer.  Pre-heat Oven to 350, cook 10 minutes, flip, and cook an additional 10 minutes or until slightly crispy.This meal was a hit with everyone!  I owe part of it to Penzey’s for making such great spices!After breakfast, my dad took a few family photos.  The kids were having a hard time standing still, so after each photo, he took a goofy photo.  The kids thought this was great.Then we went to church and just spent the day together.  Our 2-year-old is a spitfire!  She loves to sing the song K-k-k-katy so I thought I’d share this video with you (move the slider to 00:40 so you don’t have to wait – I’m having problems with the video).

Her big sister joined in and sang a song she liked when she was younger.

Later, we had trouble with our 2-year-old saying stupid.  Since she has found out that the word stupid is a no-no in our home, she has not stopped saying it.  We have tried everything except ignoring her to get her to stop.  So, today, we ignored her…we’ll see if it eventually works, but for 5 minutes she just said stupid over and over.  If any of you have advice on how to get this to stop, feel free to leave me a comment.  We’ve tried everything, so we need something creative.

Finally, the kids were outside driving their yellow jeep.  Usually, our 2-year-old is being driven around by her big brother and big sister.  Today, she thought she was up for a challenge.  My son got out of the jeep to get something, my 2-year-old slid into his spot and took off.  She had so much fun driving the jeep for the first time!

Since all but 1 missed naps today (our baby took her naps), it was a struggle to get everyone in bed.  Once we managed to get them in their room, it wasn’t long after that there was silence.  They are tired and I pray that they sleep good and for our week to be off to a good start tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

