Fresh Water – A Need for Everyone

Water…

It has always been available to us, but what if it wasn’t?  What if we couldn’t have fresh drinking water?  What if we had to walk miles to get it?

This year a friend of mine held her 3rd annual bike-a-thon and this year we raised money to provide clean drinking water for developing countries.  10 girls joined in raising money to build a well for one of these communities. My friend had bought cute animal hats for the kids as a reminder that every living thing needs water.  My son was the only boy who attended and he stayed long enough to pick out a hat.  Here are a few photos of some of my family wearing hats (the first photo includes some of our friends).My husband came and picked up the little ones.  Before leaving, he graciously donned a monkey hat.

Shortly after we arrived, the bike ride began.  Here is my 7-year-old and her friend riding past me.After the bike ride, my friend, had the children sit around a makeshift fire and talked about water.  Then, it was off to experience what it would be like to have to go get your own water.  Oh, I should mention that no one was allowed to have water once the bike ride began.  There was punch, but no water.  They were all quite thirsty by the time we found the water!

First, the girls put their “babies” on their backs like the women in the other countries.Then, they grabbed their water pail and went on a hike to find the water.Once they found the water (a cooler filled with water bottles, hidden in a neighbor’s yard), they had to fill their pails and head back.  Along the way, they also had to collect firewood in order make a fire to boil the water.  The girls had a great time and it helped them understand the work that people go through in order to have water.Then, they made tie-dye t-shirts, had a scavenger hunt for pet food (that was donated to another organization), made neat eye spy bottles (clear bottles filled with birdseed and trinkets with a notecard naming the trinkets they needed to find), and received a reward for participating in the event.  My daughter had a great time with her friends and being a part of such a neat fundraiser.

I had to take a photo of this cake that my friend made.  Isn’t it creative!Here is my girl again!  As I finish this post, I am reminded about my Savior.  In the same way our bodies are refreshed with water, our souls are refreshed by our Savior.  Just like we are desiring for people to have fresh water, how much more do the unsaved need our Father!  I pray that we will be bold in seeking to help those in need and pointing them to our great Provider.

“With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.”  Isaiah 12:3, NIV

“I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these…, you did for me.”  Matthew 25:40, NIV

 

Leave a Reply

