How do you homeschool with little ones?

Have you ever had one of those days?  Your kids are climbing the walls (or refrigerators)!  I should’ve expected it, but of course I didn’t.  My husband’s master’s class for this semester is ending this week, I am now photo editing for 2 wedding photographers (which normally doesn’t pose a problem, but apparently everyone wants a fall wedding), I’m a procrastinater and waited till the last-minute to do our Operation Christmas Child shoe boxes, I have a party tomorrow night and I’m trying to homeschool with a 2 and 3-year-old who have been pushing buttons all week.  Today, I just had to stop and pray for help, wisdom and discernment.  I need help scheduling my time.

There are a few things that I know: photo editing will slow down after this month, I need get things done right away, it’s only one party, and the kids have off days, too.  But, one of the things I need advice for is, how do you homeschool with 3 kids, 3 and under?  Do you have a schedule that works for you that you would like to share?  What are you doing with your little ones?  How do you teach the older child when you have little ones?  My oldest is 7, she has more independent work this year, but I feel like I’m being pulled in all directions and not being able to have quality time with each child.  I am so thankful to be able to stay home and homeschool, I want them to enjoy it too.

Please share what has worked for you.  Not only will it help me, but it will encourage other moms as well.

Linking up to Raising Homemakers.

2 thoughts on “How do you homeschool with little ones?

  1. 3 years and younger? No way. Early learning is not linked to academic success. http://www.slate.com/articles/double_x/doublex/2011/03/why_preschool_shouldnt_be_like_school.html

    Quote from the article “While learning from a teacher may help children get to a specific answer more quickly, it also makes them less likely to discover new information about a problem and to create a new and unexpected solution.”

    Take out teacher, insert parent. I think giving young children opportunities to explore is good enough for this age. When we went for a walk today in the woods, I asked them what colors they saw, told them to listen to the rustling of the leaves, (all while introducing a new vocab word “rustling”) and showing them moss and mushrooms.

    I also gave my kids access to an art table and art supplies and let them go to town by themselves. My daughter makes the neatest things without any of my help or guidance. She made a bird house out of a shoe box and tape the other day, without any help from me-she came up with the idea and what supplies to use all on her own. I was not involved at all. It was an amazing bird house!

    • Thank you for your response. I’m sorry if it was confusing, but I was meaning more of how do you homeschool the older children when you have the younger ones constantly trying to get your attention. My 3 year old will ask to do school like his big sister, so I’ll let him draw or color or cut and he loves it. I’m all for free play and exploration, but sometimes I feel like I’m not able to teach my older one well. I think I might try Managers of their Homes and try setting up a schedule and see if that helps. Thank you again. It is great when they make things all on their own. They can be so creative!

Leave a Reply

