Two Ingredient Pumpkin Spice Cake

Fall is one of my favorite seasons with the cooler weather and the arrival of all things pumpkin!  From pumpkin pancakes to pumpkin waffles, pumpkin cookies to pumpkin cake, I enjoy finding (and trying) all sorts of different pumpkin recipes.  Well, last night, I was thinking, hmm wouldn’t a pumpkin cake be delicious.  So, I got online and searched for a pumpkin dessert.  One of my favorite recipe sites is Allrecipes.  I always search for the recipes with the highest ratings, read the reviews and then tweak the recipe as I see fit.  As I was searching I came across a recipe that was so simple (It’s called Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake): spice cake mix and 1 can of pumpkin.  I didn’t believe that it could be that easy, but since I had those ingredients, my 7-year-old and I decided to make it (I did add a little bit of water to help mix the ingredients, but that was it).  Then I set the timer for 15 minutes and just kept checking every 10 minutes after that.  On my last check, my knife had a little bit of batter on it, but it looked done on the outside.  So, I took it out and let it cool.  Once it cooled, I thought I would try warming some chocolate frosting and drizzling it on top.  (Notice the pieces missing!) Meanwhile, my husband initially said it would be gross, then, when he tasted a warm piece he thought it was too pumpkiny.  Well, today, it is almost gone and he did say, “Mmmm this is so good!”  Not bad for a 2 ingredient recipe (well, 3 if you decide to add the frosting)!  Do you have any yummy pumpkin recipes you’d like to share?

These were cute, so I wanted to add them.  My son was so proud of his etch-a-sketch picture and my daughter just kept trying out all of the stethoscopes.  Today I’m linking up with Raising Homemakers.

Leave a Reply

