Leave the Laundry, Embrace the Hugs

I came across this today, the author is unknown, but Marcia over at A Grace-full Life shared it on her blog:

If I live in a house of spotless beauty with everything in its place, but have not love ~ I am a housekeeper, not a homemaker.
If I have time for waxing, polishing and decorative achievements, but have not love ~ my children learn cleanliness, not godliness.
Love leaves the dust in search of a child’s laugh.
Love smiles at the tiny fingerprints on a newly cleaned window.
Love wipes away the tears before it wipes up the spilled milk.
Love picks up the child before it picks up the toys.
Love is present through trials. Love reprimands, reproves and is responsive.
As a mother there is much I must teach my child, but the greatest of all is . . . LOVE.

How often do we say, just a minute to our child or not right now?  How easy and meaningful it would be if we would just stop and spend time with them?  I don’t want my children to grow up and say how mommy always kept the house clean or that the laundry was done, but I want them to say, “I know our mommy loves us because…”  I love my children and this has challenged me to just STOP.  Today, each of my kids came up to me at different times and just hugged me and walked away.  They just wanted to give me a hug, how special!  So, the past few days, I’ve stopped to play and watch them.  I grabbed the camera and here are some of our fun times.I am so thankful to have these moments, but as a result I also have another photo for what is awaiting me.This is my mountain of laundry (and there is more in the washer).  Balance is key and I’m learning that.  It’s a process.  But, I will take the hugs and kisses all throughout the day and then stay up a little later after they are in bed to finish my chores.  These are the moments I don’t want to miss.  I have been given the high calling of motherhood and I am choosing to embrace it!  If you are a mother, will you embrace it as well?

Today, I’m linking up with Raising Homemakers.

Leave a Reply

